Middle class wanker.

“I want to burden the conscience of the affluent with all the suffering and all the hidden, bitter tears.”

Rosa Luxemburg

I recently went to a talk from a person who had climbed Everest. It was the most patronising and middle class presentation I have ever had the misfortune to sit through.

So much so it inspired me to write the piece below.

What is it like to be you.

You have no idea what it is like.

I have no idea what it is like to be you.

What is it like to be you ?

To see this world the way you do.

The way you can buy anything you want.

To do anything you want.

To be anything you want to be.

You say it’s easy

just go and do it.

I Can’t afford to take 3 months out of life.

It’s easy if you really want it, you just have to do it.

I can’t afford to lose 3 days you talk of 3 months.

You know its easy, you say you can go and just do it.

So you say.

Just get out there you can do it. You say it with confidence, confidence of a big fat gigantic safety net to fall back on.

I’m on hard times there is nothing soft to fall back on.

Just get a sponsor or a member of your family.

They can pay for you to do it.

I know no one.

Nobody to open these doors you speak of the doors that only you have the key to.

I can’t ask those who struggle to pay, to send me to have a good old jolly at their expense.

Anyone can do it just book a plane and go do it.

What is it like to be you ?

To see this world so simply.

To have an idea and just be able to go do it.

To not have to worry if your children will eat that week, to not have to worry what would happen if the washer breaks.

How will feed your family and pay for the laundry until you can find some money searching facebook for a second hand replacement.

What is it like to be you.

To see the world in black and white, yes and no’s.

No gray or murky colours.

No maybes or I’m not sure yet.

No wait and sees.

You talk of 600 pound boots 2 pairs just incase.

Whilst I’m sat here with holes in my shoes.

Cease the day you say to me.

Cliche followed by cliche after  cliche.

Oh what is it like to be you.

To have to pay to have a challenge.

To have to pay to feel fulfilled.

Every day is a struggle and a challenge for me.

Everyday is fulfilled, fulfilled and proud that I made it another day.

Paying to inject passion into your life to feel some form of life run through your veins.

What would is it like to be you.

I’m so glad I’m not you.

One thought on “Middle class wanker.

Please share your thoughts.

